At the Head of the Class



Based on student surveys, the Economics Graduate Student Organization announced three teaching awards for 1997-98. The organization named Jan Brueckner, professor of economics, as Best Professor of a Small Class. The organization's Award for Best Professor of a Large Class again went to Roger Koenker, previously voted that honor for 1996-97. Koenker is William B. McKinley Professor of Economics.

Robert Miller received the Robert Demarest Teaching Award. This award is made to economics teaching assistants in recognition of outstanding performance in the classroom. Three other graduate students received honorable mention: Shakil Quayes, A.S.M. Shahidur Rashid, and Marc Weidenmeir. The award was established by the family of the late Robert Demarest, a graduate student in economics who died before completing his work.


In the Department of Finance, graduate teaching assistant Konan Chan has been presented with the Leonard J. and Sharon Crowley Santow Award for Teaching Excellence. This award, which is endowed by the Santows, is presented to teaching assistants for outstanding classroom work with undergraduate students.


Neil Pearson, associate professor of finance and winner of the Commerce Alumni Association Excellence-in-Teaching Award for Graduate Teaching  also received the MBA Award for Teaching Excellence for the Elective Curriculum. He specializes in options and futures.

Executive MBA

The Executive MBA Outstanding Instructor Award for 1997-98 went to Larry DeBrock, professor of economics, and Joe Mahoney, professor of business administration. Made in recognition of teaching in the program over a two-year period, the award is based on a vote by graduating EMBA students.

Commerce Council

The annual Commerce Council Outstanding Teaching Awards were presented to four faculty members and four teaching assistants, voted the honor, as they are every year, by the CBA student body. One faculty member in each department has been recognized. Winners are: Michael A. Dyer, visiting professor of finance; Ralph S. Goodwin, lecturer in accountancy; Fred Gottheil, professor of economics; and Josť Antonio Rosa, professor of business administration. Likewise, one graduate teaching assistant in each department won the award, namely: Konan Chan (second year finance), Douglas Gutsell (second year accountancy), Nader Hasan (second year business administration), and Robert Miller (first year economics).

Luckman Award

Ihsan Ajwad, who won the Commerce Alumni Association Excellence-in-Teaching Award  was also one of five graduate teaching assistants at UIUC to be presented with the prestigious Luckman Award — the Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. In accordance with the criteria for the award, which carried a $3,500 stipend and a $1,000 raise, Ajwad was honored for consistently excellent performance in the classroom, positively affecting the lives of his students, taking innovative approaches to teaching, and making other contributions to improve the curriculum and deliver instruction. 

Other Awards

Kent Monroe, head of the department of business administration and the J.M. Jones Distinguished Professor of Marketing, has received the Graduate College Award for Outstanding Mentoring of Graduate Students. The university-wide award recognizes exemplary efforts by graduate faculty members in advising and serving graduate students. Monroe, a member of the CBA faculty since 1991, was one of just two UIUC professors thus honored.

The winner of the Emerson Cammack Outstanding Service to Undergraduate Students Award for the 1997-98 academic year is Patrick J. Cleary, assistant dean and director of budget and resource planning at CBA. Cleary was nominated by faculty and students for the award, given annually by the Alumni Association and named in honor of the legendary Commerce dean who was its first recipient. Cleary was particularly cited for his sixteen years of service as faculty adviser to Phi Gamma Nu, one of the business fraternities.
Pat Cleary (right) receiving much deserved recognition for the mentoring and nurturing role he has played for Phi Gamma Nu. Howard Thomas, dean, presents the award.

The Executive and Professional Development Award for 1997-98 has gone to Charles M. Linke, IBE Distinguished Professor of Finance. Presented in recognition of contributions to the programs of the Executive Development Center, the award is given by the Business Advisory Council and is underwritten by Investors in Business Education.

The St. Louis Accountancy Committee announced that Tom Linsmeier, assistant professor of accountancy, is the recipient of its Excellence in Teaching Award for 1998. The award, which is fashioned as an arch in honor of the group's home city and carries a $1,000 honorarium, was presented to Linsmeier at the committee's annual reception in May. A member of the UIUC faculty since 1995, Linsmeier received his Ph.D. and MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and his B.B.A. from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. He teaches courses in financial accounting and reporting, and his research focuses on the usefulness of accounting information to investors. Written with Neil Pearson, finance, his widely read "primer" on value at risk was the subject of a recent story in InSight.

Composed of members from accounting firms in greater St. Louis, the Accountancy Committee has a tradition of bringing together U of I alums at its annual receptions.

Zvi Ritz, professor of business administration and director of the Commerce Office for Information Management, has received the Keith E. Sawyer Service Award. The award is made in recognition of outstanding service and commitment to the Executive MBA program, its students, and alumni.

Research Grants

The Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER) and the Center for International Education and Research in Accountancy (CIERA) are pleased to announce the results of the spring research grants competition. Together, they funded four CBA faculty projects on international business and economic topics, listed as follows.