A Time for Recognition


Among the most prestigious student awards at CBA is the Top Ten Senior Award, presented by Commerce Council to those who have evinced academic achievement and service to the college and university during their undergraduate academic career. Commerce's Top Ten Seniors from the Class of 1998 are: Scott Catlett, Mary Janas, Patrick Jensen, John Kim, Karen Ma, Andrya Meeker, Jeff Pohlman, Susan Simon, Bryan Stuart, and Juliana Wong.

Named by the Student Alumni Association and the University of Illinois Alumni Association, the Senior 100 Honorary recognizes outstanding graduating seniors for leadership and good academic standing. Commerce recipients include: Matthew Anderson, Jill Antonini, Jason Arndt, Kara Baier, Kristin Bauer, Ursula Brockman, Aaron Cohen, Katherine Dunn, Paul Gierstorf, Patrick Jensen, Aaron Klopfenstein, Brett Locascio, Karen Ma, Elizabeth McGrath, Joshua McKey, Andrya Meeker, Matthew Mell, Mandy Jo Myers, Brandon Peele, Jeff Pohlman, Andrew Sachs, Erin Shields, and Susan Simon.

Nicole Young
Awards presented each year by the CBA Council of Presidents include the President's Award and the Student Leadership Award. The former recognizes the outstanding leadership ability of a current or immediate past president of a student club, based on that student's contributions to the organization. Candidates are nominated by their clubs and selection is made by a committee composed of club advisors. Nicole Young of Commerce Council won the President's Award for 1998. Peter J. Koob of Phi Gamma Nu received an honorable mention from the committee. Also presented by the Council of Presidents, the Student Leadership Award is given to a member of a student organization who has demonstrated outstanding leadership ability through service as an officer, committee chair, or other means. Candidates are nominated by their clubs. This year's winner was Kathryn E. Strauss of Phi Gamma Nu.

Phi Gamma Nu presents several awards of its own each year to graduating members. Members of the Class of 1998, who have been honored by their business student fraternity include:

As the graduating senior with the highest grade point average, Steven Nickas also received the Alpha Kappa Psi Scholarship Key.

dinner.jpg (22337 bytes)
At the reception before dinner.

The George Huff Awards are presented each year by the Division of Intercollegiate Athletics in recognition of the important dual achievements of UIUC's scholar-athletes. These are students who have achieved a minimum 3.0 grade point average during the academic year, while also winning a varsity letter in the same period. For 1997-98 the George Huff Award winners for CBA are: Sarah Aberle, Amanda Barrick, Maureen Clark, Kelly Dexter, Oliver Freelove, Jacob Goldstein, Michael Gusich, Chad Hebel, Matt Heldman, Jessica Klapper, Craig Marquie, and Stacy Schapiro.

Awards presented by our alumni include the Commerce Alumni Association Scholarships. These are given each year to outstanding students, based on academic merit, extracurricular activities, and service to the community. Scholarship winners for this year include Stacy Dunton, Mary Janas, and Nicole Young.

Jeffrey Brook, who entered his first year at UIUC last fall with more than fifty hours of advanced placement credit, was named a Matthews Scholar in recognition of his achievement. The award, which carries a $1,500 credit toward tuition and university expenses, is supported by the Alumni Association, under the auspices of the UIUC-wide Matthews Scholars Program. The association is the first alumni group to participate in the program. Key, as the graduating senior in the College of Commerce with the highest grade point average.

Study Abroad Scholarships

It's off to distant shores for five CBA undergraduates, who have received scholarships to study abroad from the Center for International Education and Research in Accounting (CIERA). Three of the five are headed for bonny Scotland — where, presumably, they'll find time to cut a few divots in the Old Course between classes at the University of St. Andrews. They are Alexander Krasavin, James McGrail, and Anthony Tworek. Also bound for the U.K. is Natalie Michael, who enrolls this fall in City University Business School in London. And Greta Peralta, another CIERA scholarship winner, will be attending the Norwegian School of Management in Oslo, Norway.

The scholarships are awarded based on promise of high academic achievement and evidence of financial need. The CIERA Scholarship Committee plans to award additional scholarships to students studying abroad during the Spring 1999 semester. Financial support for the scholarships is made possible by a grant from the Vernon K. Zimmerman and Marilyn Pflederer Zimmerman Foundation. Dean of the College of Commerce and Business Administration from 1971 to 1985, the late Dr. Zimmerman served as director of CIERA for almost thirty-five years, from 1962 until his death in 1996.

Bon voyage, kids! The Center for International Business Education and Research has presented fifteen Commerce students with travel awards, to be used for summer study and in the 1998-99 academic year at schools throughout the world. Winners and the schools they'll be attending this fall include: Nancy La Tart and Carolina Gomez (EXCP, Paris); Katarzyna Biezychudek and Maria Avalos (University of Granada, Spain); Greta Peralta (Norwegian School of Marketing, Oslo); Anna Tse (Chuo University, Tokyo), and Na Young Hwang (Yonsei University, Korea). Other grant recipients enrolled in summer study abroad programs. They are Tom Healy, Lori Riepe, and Amanda Chavez (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil); Jesse Lucco and Victor DeMartino (Summer in Perugia program, Italy); Jason Sit (National Taiwan University); Edward Charoenpitaks (Kinki University, Osaka, Japan); and Michael Delgado (Ciudad Universitaria, Madrid).

Each year, CIBER awards $10,000 in international study grants to CBA students, and in November, another competition will be held for spring study abroad. Criteria include academic achievement, commitment to international studies, and financial need. Grantees must pursue their studies in countries where the primary language spoken is not English.