Forty-second Annual Spring Luncheon

April 5, 2002, The Palmer House Hilton, Chicago, Illinois
Hosted by the Commerce Alumni Association

Guest speaker Jan Valentic (right) chatted with other Spring Luncheon guests including Sanford Takiff, Commerce Alumni Association board member, Nate Hobaugh, MBA Alumni Association Board president, Zvi Ritz, Director of CCBA Office of Information Management (back to camera), and Jack Valentic (left to right).

Kevin Waspi accepted the 2002 Excellence-in-Teaching Award for Undergraduate Teaching. Waspi is noted for his "Real Client Managed Portfolio" class in the Department of Finance.

Clayton Reck (left with Dean Avijit Ghosh) and Fernanda Toros (right) each were awarded an Excellence-in-Teaching Award for Teaching Assistants. Reck is a fourth-year doctoral student and Toros is in her third year.

Jan Valentic delivered the keynote address on future markets, which she noted would be older and more rotund.

Jan Brueckner looks at his certificate citing him as the 2002 winner of the Excellence-in-Teaching Award for Graduate Teaching. Brueckner holds the Investors in Business Education Professorship in Economics.

First Bank of Oak Park, Park National Bank and Trust of Chicago, and Deloitte & Touche LLP graciously provided underwriting for a portion of the luncheon.

Our thanks to Andersen LLP, Bank One Corporation, Ernst &Young LLP, LaSalle Bank N.A.for sponsoring multiple tables. Ace Hardware Corp., American Express Tax & Business Services, Baxter Healthcare, Billow Butler, Cardinal Growth, CNA Insurance, Crowe Chizek & Company, CS First Boston, Deloitte & Touche LLP, Duff & Phelps LLC, FBOP Corporation, First Midwest Bank, Harris Trust, IDFA, KPMG LLP, MBA Alumni Association, McGladrey & Pullen, Mike Nash and Bob Standring, Miller Shakman Hamilton, Northwestern Mutual, Paul O'Connor, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Rubloff,Inc., The Revere Group,Ltd., Washington,Pittman & McKeever LLC, Wildman Harold Allen and Dixon, and William F.Gurrie & Co. Ltd. were table sponsors.