Office of Communications
470C Wohlers Hall
College of Business

College of BusinessCommerce News

May 2, 2002 -- News Brief

Economics Awards Honors

The high academic achievements of faculty and graduate students in economics were honored at an awards ceremony on May 2 in Wohlers Hall. Held by department tradition on Reading Day -- the day between the end of classes and the beginning of finals -- the annual event was hosted by department head Dick Arnould, who presented awards to fifteen recipients.

Honored with campus-wide awards were Werner Baer who holds the Jorge Paulo Lemann Chair in Economics and has received the Graduate College Mentoring Award, and Jan Brueckner (photo right with Arnould), Investors in Business Education Professor of Economics, presented with the Honorable Mention for the Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching. Brueckner also received this year's Commerce Alumni Association Excellence-in-Teaching Award for Graduate Teaching.

Two faculty members were honored by the Economics Graduate Student Organization: Anil Bera (at left with Arnould), for Excellence in Teaching a Large Class, and Kevin Hallock, for Excellence in Teaching a Small Class.

Graduate students who received awards included: Veronica Alaimo, Gwen Ball (on right), James Bang, Jannet Chang, Sara Christopher, Kathleen Ervin, Dan Hanner, Roozbeh Hosseini, Lingjie Ma, Rodrigo Moita, Clayton Reck, Laura Ripani (on left), and Sarah Stazuck.


Communications Office, 470C Wohlers Hall
1206 South Sixth St, Champaign, IL 61820
College of Business
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign